Torah of Reconciliation

Torah of Reconciliation book cover

 Torah of Reconciliation

Join Rabbi Rossoff for this new class, based on Torah of Reconciliation by Rabbi Sheldon Lewis. Rabbi Lewis' book presents a framework of Jewish approaches to peace, reconciliation, empathy, forgiveness, and passionate, compassionate dialogue, and applies these and related principles to each of the weekly Torah portions. Once or twice a month, we will explore issues of reconciliation, empathy, mutual understanding, and dialogue through the lens of Torah. This class will be a "safe zone," an environment in which we can have "passionate and compassionate conversations" about what we read in Torah and how it might relate to our own experiences and hopes. Come every time, just drop in sometimes, or even come by once to check it out.

Ongoing participants are asked to obtain the book and, before the first meeting, to read the introduction, "Peacemaking in the Jewish Tradition." Each week will be self-contained as we explore a different part of the Torah and what it might teach us about our inner lives and our relationships with others. Torah of Reconciliation can be purchased from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or your bookseller of choice.

Registration is not necessary, but Rabbi Rossoff asks that you please contact him at [email protected] if you are interested in participating. This program is open to current, former and prospective members.

Session Dates:
November 22, 2015
December 6
January 10, 2016
January 17
February 7
February 28
March 6
March 20
April 3
April 17
May 1
May 15

Date and Time: 
Repeats every 2 days 1 times. Also includes Sun Jan 17 2016, Sun Feb 07 2016, Sun Feb 28 2016, Sun Mar 06 2016, Sun Mar 20 2016, Sun Apr 03 2016, Sun Apr 17 2016, Sun May 01 2016, Sun May 15 2016.
Sunday, January 17, 2016 - 11:30am to 12:45pm
Sunday, January 17, 2016 - 11:30am to 12:45pm
Sunday, February 7, 2016 - 11:30am to 12:45pm
Sunday, February 28, 2016 - 11:30am to 12:45pm
Sunday, March 6, 2016 - 11:30am to 12:45pm
Sunday, March 20, 2016 - 11:30am to 12:45pm
Sunday, April 3, 2016 - 11:30am to 12:45pm
Sunday, April 17, 2016 - 11:30am to 12:45pm
Sunday, May 1, 2016 - 11:30am to 12:45pm
Sunday, May 15, 2016 - 11:30am to 12:45pm
Event Type: 

Connect With Us

Facebook Instagram Twitter Youtube

Our Religious School

Girl with Baloon

The Religious School provides JRC children with the building blocks they need to engage throughout their lives in Jewish exploration, community and activism.

Learn More About School Programs

JRC Early Childhood Center

Child With Chalk

Our enriching and diverse preschool program is based on progressive Jewish values, is open to families of all religious backgrounds, and focuses on the importance of relationships between students, teachers, and families. 

Early Childhood Center Registration

naeyc.png